Skip to content

Inside the utba.

September 21, 2010

In my room I have a loft bed from Ikea.

Under that loft bed I have a desk.

I have covered the desk and the surrounding area in things, such as a Star Wars postcard I bought at a convention, or a cheap Mario mushroom that used to have some kind of candy in it (I ate the candy).

To my left on the wall is The Wall, which needs a better name. It is composed of all sorts of things tacked up with thumbtacks (Not a very wise decision, now I can never move the stuff).

Things like a picture printed from the internet of Thomas the Tank Engine being graffiti-ed upon by hooligans, or a Dragon*Con attendee badge autographed by a Mythbuster, or perhaps the page torn out of my Far Side Gallery I with my favorite comic on it, full-page. One of my personal favorites is the photograph from the mid-80s of my father in his underwear, with a toothbrush in his mouth. He had a mullet.

I call this space the UTBA: Under The Bed Area. I intended to make a sign but never got around to it.

This is where I write, amongst other things.

I rely on this space to create. It’s my constant inspiration.

I often wish I could just cram my entire room into this area, my bookshelf (Ikea), my beanbag chair, my orange Herman Miller chair that used to be in an airport in the 60s.

I have a curtain that used to be in the shower in our house, which I repurposed after we began remodeling the bathroom. This curtain hangs from the entrance to the utba, mostly cutting me off from the rest of my room and the house beyond.

I will often spend great amounts of time in the utba until my rear is sore of sitting (office chair, also from Ikea), and my eyes hurt from staring at my incredibly outdated laptop.

The funny thing is that as inspiring as the utba is, it can be very distracting. I can spend minutes at a time fiddling with the little things in it, making sure they look just right, or making sure my desk is clear, or even just spinning around and picking up the book I have sitting there behind me under the hotel room keycard from a Sheraton I stayed at in DC.

So really, I can’t live with or without this area. I’m not sure why I wanted to tell you this, but here we are.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. emmafj permalink
    September 22, 2010 10:37 am

    That orange chair is really cool.

  2. November 17, 2010 7:00 pm

    we have different office chairs in the office and i love to use those office chairs with clothe cover ~’,

Leave a Reply

