Skip to content

Facebook is crap.

August 18, 2010

So yesterday afternoon, I proceeded to sit down at the computer and open up Facebook, as I always do, as EVERYONE does.

I was strangely logged out, and I typed in my email and then password, and something rather troubling came up.

What is this?! I didn’t disable my account. I was instantly bewildered, and thinking it was glitch, I reloaded the page and tried again. Nothing. After trying several times, I went to the FAQ and did some poking around, to find that Facebook’s coverage of restoring a disabled account is painfully scanty. They said that the reasons could be I was violating the rules and had received warnings but kept up anyway, had been hacked, had disabled it myself, or that it was server error and the message didn’t say ‘disabled’ at all. Thanks, Facebook. That’s very helpful.

Seeing as none of these had happened, I sent a retrieval form of sorts to them through the ‘I am a naughty rule-breaker’ topic,  and had some very confusing email pop into my inbox telling me to reply and verify that I was using the right email, but my mail program told me that the reply address wasn’t real, etc.

I did some poking around and found a blog post that spoke of the unspoken horrors of Facebook: They will disable your account whenever they feel like it, using some pretty lame excuses to do so. If you use a nickname or any other name that isn’t on your birth certificate, they will boot you out. if you post to many times to someone else’s wall, if you have to many friends, if you use the messaging system too much, even if you so much as POKE TOO MUCH, they will kick you out.

The only thing that I could have possibly done is the nickname thing. I used the name ‘Jake’, instead of ‘John’. Come one. EVERYONE, even since before I had an official name, has called me Jake. I wouldn’t even think to use the name John at all. So this is the only reason that I can fathom that I was booted out, I thought, and went about trying to contact them.

Then today, my sister attempts to log in to her account this morning, and BAM, she’s disabled as well. Facebook apparently told her that she was not who she said she was. She didn’t even use a nickname. The only thing she did was lie about her age for a few months ahead. but we have a friend who’s eleven and has been on there for two years, and has a nickname, and hasn’t been kicked out yet. So I don’t know if Facebook has some sort of grudge against our family, or has discovered that we are actually Yetis, or what, but I am starting to feel paranoid. HOW do they know that my name isn’t actually, legally, Jake? HOW do they know that my sister isn’t actually thirteen yet? WHY do they care?

If this has happened to you, please speak up. Facebook needs to change their disabling policies, and fast. Facebook is an important means of communication for me, as it is millions of other people. Nicknames aren’t a reason to suddenly kick someone out for.

Right?!

One Comment leave one →
  1. emmafj permalink
    August 18, 2010 4:23 pm

    My account got disabled once. it sucked. All you have to do is register for another one! I have no idea why mine was disabled. I cant remember.

Leave a Reply

