Skip to content

In which I talk about little girls, Moleskines, books, and thinking like a writer.

July 17, 2010

I have two things on my mind.       

KonoAudio

 

One, the mild irritation I have from wearing my new headphones so much recently. I got a pair of these(The white and jumbled colored ones) for twenty bucks at Bed, Bath & Beyond, and they turned out to have pretty good quality and don’t seem to be too cheaply made. I am wearing them as I type this.       

The other thing is that I want to constantly be thinking like a person who creates words. I want to think like a writer. I am a writer, so I should think like one.       

Recently I have acquired a book, entitled Zen in the Art of Writing: Essays on Creativity, by Ray Bradbury. It is apparently the third in a series on writing by Bradbury, a renowned and well-known author. Several authors I look up to recommend these books as a must-read if you are interested in writing. As I read it, I can see why.       

From reading this, I can tell two things. The man is a creative and literary genius, and he is also dead passionate about writing. He even said that he gets jittery if he goes a day without it. Wow. The book is a series of essays on writing and the passion and zest and love for it that Bradbury has, and what it means to write and create stories.       

So I am reading this, and I thought to myself, “I want to be like this. I want to become jittery if I go a day without writing. I want to live and breathe as a writer.” I get asked by people, you know, what I like to do, if I’m into any sports. And I always tell them that I like to write. I shouldn’t say that. I should say I am a writer. Definitively and clearly. I want to be seen as a writer by others, I want to be recognized as a writer by them.       

But more than that, which sounds a little vain, I want to observe and decipher and find stories in everyday life. I want to pull apart personalities in my head and catalogue the way I see and experience things for future use, I want to store quotes and little things I find interesting about people and things as I go about every day.       

In short, I want to think like a writer. I’ve said that plenty of times now, haven’t I?       

Image belongs to Moleskine. Best. Notebooks. Ever.

 

I have taken physical steps to try and accomplish this very… non-physical idea. I have gotten a pack of two little Moleskine pocket notebooks, which fit perfectly in my back pocket. I have begun carrying that and a pencil around with me everywhere I go, just in case an idea or quote or observation hits me. And they have, so I was glad to have those with me.       

The other thing is that I have tried hard to think like a writer in my everyday life. I went to a dinner party sort of a thing recently, and met a little girl named Laila. The first thing that tipped me off as to liking her was that she was busy playing cards and refused to look at me or say hello. I told her I wouldn’t bite, and she said she knew, she just didn’t want to say hi(I helped her at cards and got her to say hello a few minutes later).       

That may seem rude on her part to you, and you may be thinking something like, ‘Why would that make you think you were going to like her?’ Well, it tipped me off as to a possibly interesting personality.  And boy was I right. She was sharp as a tack, and very quick-witted. At one point as I asked her if she was seven(Which she was), and she responded, “No, I’m a hundred and eighty-four!” It completely caught me off-guard.       

“One-hundred and eighty-four years old?” I asked her, “Are you a vampire or something?” “No! I’m one hundred and twenty-five years old!” “Twenty-five now?” “Twenty three. Just twenty-three years old.” I looked at her. She shrugged, “I changed my mind.”       

So I had an idea.       

 “I see,” I told her, “Well, I’m writing a book. Can I put you in it?” She looked at me funny for a moment. “You are? I don’t want to be in a book,” She said. “Please?” I begged. She looked at me again and said, “Okay, fine, you can put me in your book.” So I found a pen and napkin and scribbled down her name and some things about her.       

She likes to cheat at cards, ladies and gentlemen.       

She likes to cheat at cards.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2010 2:51 pm

    hi you. good points above. but one thing. you got to put first the idea that God wants you to include Him in your plans. To be a good kid, person, son, brother, one day husband/father…AND writer. Don’t leave Him out in your pursuit, or it will all dry up from the emptiness if it. Remember Him first as you think and scheme, and what should come into your hands, will. And it will be so much better than what you could have ever orchestrated for yourself. You weren’t created to do it alone, all of your own will power, or skill set. Forgetting that will just leave you frustrated.
    -m

  2. emmafj permalink
    July 17, 2010 7:07 pm

    what card game?

  3. July 17, 2010 7:32 pm

    boogers, you’re good.
    -d

  4. emmafj permalink
    July 18, 2010 9:30 am

    oo i love slapjack! i always win :P what is James Bond?

    • July 18, 2010 3:29 pm

      It’s too complicated to describe here, but you try and make sets of four before the other person can.

  5. emmafj permalink
    July 18, 2010 4:56 pm

    you mean like spoons?

  6. emmafj permalink
    July 18, 2010 5:00 pm

    btw i LOVE the hot pink peace head phones!

Leave a Reply

