Skip to content

Vacation…

July 2, 2010

So now that this is my last day of vacation, and my inner me is screaming “NOO!” at very high decibels, I have decided to write a post. Hooray.

So halfway through the time spent here at the beach, I realized something: Sand is not my friend.
The very first day I donned my swimming trunks I got that little annoying chap on the inside of my legs. And I don’t mean a little boy, I mean a vicious, stinging, rubbing of the sand against my legs by that stupid bathing suit.

When I came in, the underside of my thighs were spotted with little red bumps that resembled wet, salty thigh-acne, as well as the actual rash, which felt like someone had scraped the upper layer of skin off my legs. But I put on shorts and it went away.
And so I thought it was gone, so I ran out into the surf with vim and vigor the next day.

As soon as my legs hit the water, BAM: The salt mixed with my raw legs and the word “Oww” came to mind. But I was determined to enjoy the beach and so I ignored the pain. Eventually it got too much to bear, and I came in. Same story. So since then I have not gone into the water.

And this has gotten me thinking about the downsides to vacations. Like the constant back-and-forth about whether or not to stay plugged in to your social/digital/socially digital life. Shall I answer calls? Do emails make that much difference? DO MY FACEBOOK NOTIFICATIONS OVERRULE MY NEED FOR RELAXATION?! I can’t decide, and I am now about to leave.

And I don’t know about you, but every year we go to the beach with the rest of the family. I get tired of BEING with these people all day every day for a week. I can barely stand them at home, but out here where everyone is trying to relax? Not a chance!

Also, since I am a creative type, I get all these crazy ideas when I’m trying not to. But then I get all excited about the idea and try to accomplish this idea, but I can’t because I am stranded on an island with a sand rash and my family and my constant battles with staying in touch with my friends! Urr.

Maybe I’m just ranting. I’m not sure.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Emerald Bentley permalink
    July 3, 2010 10:49 am

    Very true Jake. It is the vacation battle that I face as well.

  2. July 8, 2010 10:45 pm

    can barley stand your family? the word “Oww” comes to mind.

Leave a Reply

