Skip to content

Autumn: Chapter One

February 18, 2010

.:C h a p t e r  O n e:.

Autumn awoke to silence. She rolled over, the sheets rustling as she did so.

She stood up, yawning.

She glanced at her calendar hanging over her desk. It was the first day of fall.

She stretched, opening the blinds, looking out into the front yard. Already, most of the trees were beautiful reds and yellows, with the occasional leaf falling from the trees.

She quickly dressed and descended the stairs, grabbing her bag.

Her mother was fixing bacon in the kitchen.

“Hi, dear,” She said, beaming Autumn a smile.

“Good morning,” Autumn said. She quickly had a bowl of cereal and a few pieces of bacon before bolting down some orange juice and standing.
“I’d better be going, Mom,” She said.

“Alright, honey. Have a safe trip to school,” Her mother replied.

Autumn nodded.

“I will.”
She stepped out onto the front porch. Out in front of her stretched the long, winding, slightly uphill driveway. They lived way away from the road, back in the woods.

Autumn climbed onto her bike and rode off, her jacket and hair blowing in the wind.

The air was crisp and cool. This was her favorite part of the year. She was named after it, after having being born right at the end of the season.

She rode along the winding driveway and finally made it to the street.

She turned out onto the new asphalt road and sped along the side.

A ways ahead of her, she spotted a figure walking along the side of the road.

As she drew nearer, she saw that it was a boy about her age, wearing a black suit vest and a dark gray and red t-shirt.

She didn’t know that there were any kids besides her that lived on this road.

She drew up behind him, and he turned around. He was wearing a light gray driver’s cap, and as she looked at his face, several things happened at once.

A huge gust of wind blew through the trees sending leaves cascading down on them.

At the same time, there was a loud honk from behind her, and she turned around to see a car speeding down the road. It swerved onto the side, heading right for them.

She tried to swerve out of the way, but the car was going too fast.

It hit the back wheel of her bike, twisting it out from under her and sending her flying.

Suddenly the boy was there, and she felt herself crash into him, and they both hit the asphalt.

She lay still for a moment, staring up at the falling leaves before coughing and sitting up.

The driver of the car sped off without a glance backwards, leaving Autumn and the boy alone.

Suddenly he was standing above her, holding out his hand.

She reached up and took it, and he pulled her up.

“Thanks,” She breathed.

Her heart was hammering.

He nodded.

“Don’t mention it. Are you okay?”

She patted herself.

“I… I think so, but my bike…”
She turned around to see the bent and twisted bike.

“Oh, great. Now I’m going to be late for school.”

She grabbed her bag, which had been sent flying, and nodded to the boy again.

“Thanks, but I have to get to school. I’ll see you later?”
He nodded, smiling, and she took off, hurrying along the road.

She got to school five minutes late, and as she stepped into the classroom, Mr. Browne was already in full swing.

“Autumn. You’re late.”
She nodded.

“I know, Mr. Browne. I was hit by some crazy driver on the way here,” She said.

He raised an eyebrow.

“A crazy driver? Hit you? You don’t look like you were hit by a crazy driver.”

She looked down at herself.
He was right- the scuffs and tears on her clothes were gone.

What?

“Um… I’m not making it up. My bike was totaled by this guy,” She said.

He nodded.

“And… I suppose that’s not your bike sitting on the bike rack right out there?”
Autumn turned around, looking out the open windows. Sure enough, her bike was sitting on the rack, on the very end.

But…

“But… it was hit! I had to walk to school…” She trailed off.

Mr. Browne gave her an incredulous look.

“Just don’t be late again, and don’t lie about why,” He said.

She took her seat, bewildered.

She had seen the bike. She had been on it when it was hit. And then there was that weird boy. Had she daydreamed the whole thing? No… that was impossible. Wasn’t it?

She sat through the classes all the way to lunch.

She picked her way over to an empty table and sat down. She needed to think, not chat with her friends.

Why aren’t my clothes scuffed up? Why was my bike on the rack? This doesn’t make any sense.

Someone sat down next to her, and she looked up to see the boy from earlier.

“Hi,” He said.

She blinked.

“Hi…”

He bit into a sandwich, not saying anything.

“Are you the same guy from this morning?” She asked.

He looked up.

“Excuse me?”
“This morning? When I was hit by that car…?”
He looked confused.

“What?” he chuckled. “You were hit by a car? And I was there? I don’t think so. I would remember something like that.”

She felt even more bewildered.

“You… weren’t there?”
He shook his head.

“Nope. You sure you didn’t dream it?”

Did I?

“Oh… okay.”
Suddenly, she didn’t feel hungry anymore.

She stood up and threw away the rest of her lunch.

She headed back to class, but suddenly someone grabbed her arm and stopped her.

It was the boy.

“You again?” She asked.

“Yes, me again. Listen, what happened this morning really did happen. I was there. I caught you, remember?”
She nodded slowly.

“Yeah… but why is everything normal, like nothing happened?”
He bit his lower lip, appearing to be mulling something over.

“I can’t tell you now. But I can later. We go home the same way. We’ll talk then, okay?”

She frowned.

“But…”
He shook his head.

“Later.”
Then he disappeared into the crowd of kids leaving the lunchroom, leaving Autumn to herself.

Later that day, she went to the bike rack and got her bike. It wasn’t damaged in the least.

She started off, and after turning onto her street, she found the boy waiting for her.

“Hi,” he said.

She brought the bike to a stop.

“Are you going to tell me what’s going on?” She asked.

He nodded.

“Yeah.”

“Well?”
He rubbed the back of his neck.

“I… well-” he broke off as another gust of wind blew across the trees, sending leaves flying.

His eyes widened, and he leapt for her, knocking her clean off the bike. They landed in the forest, as leaves came pouring down, landing on his back.

She yelled something, trying to get up.

She pushed him off and stood. The wind changed, and the leaves swept across the road, smacking into her, clinging to her body, covering her eyes.

Suddenly she could see again, and a hand reached out to her, as red and orange leaves cascaded around her.

She reached out and took it, and the wind intensified, lifting her off her feet, leaves streaking by her as she held onto the hand.

Suddenly the wind stopped, and she fell to the leaf-covered ground.

She got up, slightly dazed.

The boy was standing there in front of her, staring up at the trees.

“They don’t want you to wake up,” He breathed.

“What? Who doesn’t want me to wake up?” Autumn asked.

Suddenly the wind picked up again, leaves streaking around them.

They swirled into little tiny cyclones, then streaked through the air.

The boy turned to her.

“Run, Autumn! Run! Don’t let the leaves grab you!”

Bewildered, Autumn turned and ran, skirt flapping.

The wind followed her. The leaves streaked around her, and one landed on her shoulder, clinging to her.

She tore it away, crumpling it in her hand.

Suddenly the boy was right beside her. He grabbed her hand and leapt into the air.

The leaves somehow formed into a massive wall in front of them, and they crashed through it.

Autumn felt herself falling, and then she came to an abrupt halt. The wind had somehow gathered underneath her. She gently floated to the ground as the wind roared around her, as well as the rustling of all the leaves.

“What is going on?!” She yelled.

The boy turned to her, then a sudden gust of wind blew right at him, throwing him into the air.

He soared over Autumn, then landed on his feet, sending leaves flying.

The leaves gusted towards him, and he leapt forward, flying through them and sending them scattering.

Suddenly the winds came to a halt, and there was silence.

The boy turned to Autumn, and she didn’t know what to say.

“Who are you?!” She asked.

“Autumn, listen to me,” he began, but she cut him off.

“No, you listen to me. I don’t know who you are, or what the heck is going on, but you’d better have some answers for me.”

“Autumn-”

“How do you know my name? I haven’t met you before today, and I certainly haven’t told you my name.”

“I can’t explain everything here and now, but I’ve known you for a long time. Whether or not you’ve known me doesn’t matter.”

“What? But I’ve never seen you before-”

“I know, I know. Just trust me, okay? I can’t give you the answers now. I’ll be back for you, Autumn.”
“What? You’re just… leaving?”
“Yes. Don’t worry, they won’t attack you again. They’re just interested in me.”

“Wait a minute. Who won’t attack me?”

“Later, Autumn. I promise.”

“At least tell me your name.”

He stopped and turned.

“Bryn. You can call me Bryn.”

With that, he turned and walked off into the trees, leaving Autumn by herself and very confused.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Hailey! permalink
    February 18, 2010 4:44 am

    It’s really good!

  2. Emma :) permalink
    February 18, 2010 4:50 pm

    WOW your really good!!

  3. February 18, 2010 6:13 pm

    Hehe, thanks, guys. Yeah Hailey, I slipped Mr. Browne in there… needed a teacher’s name really fast. Ha ha.

  4. BCT permalink
    April 14, 2010 6:17 pm

    dude.

Leave a Reply

